P184-187

Image 

I’ve been pushing out the pages these few weeks in between weddings.  Next week’s is in Chicago. 

 

In the interim I’ve started drawing with blue lead.  I stumbled upon the fact that they sell blue mechanical pencil lead (even on amazon)- which surprised me.  The lead should be invisible to scanners if they are set to black/white.  But some sources contest that point.  I hope it does work, because I suspiciously believe erasing the normal lead (that scanner typically pick up) damages the ink.

 

More so, due to actively preparing written material to send to comic publishers I am tinkering with placing the graphic novel online.  I would love to publish it.  But it will be three years until I finish and the reality is if I can’t find a publisher it will mostly likely surface here anyways.  Also most indie comic cartoonists don’t make that much money.  I have a decent job and can draw in my spare time.  I’m lucky I can do such.  It would be great to be paid for it, but this industry is built off people who love the media and love doing it- not dollar signs.  When I first began “Sacco” it was to open avenues for future illustration assignments.  But now I like telling stories with images.  If I get an illustration job- great!  If I get a book published- even greater! Nonetheless, Illustration-wise, drawing 250+ pages has definitely helped my process and placing myself on the regiment of 2 pages a week has speed up my delivery time.  (It used to be about 2 weeks for 1 illustration- 1!) 

Image 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

