Busted Steam Pipe

I draw the pages on the weekend and ink them on the weekdays.   I do it this way because when I ink my hand tightens up almost unconsciously to hold the brush steady.  If I don’t take breaks every hour it gets painful.  Ultimately the goal is to start 2 new pages every Saturday.  So if I don’t get all the inking done during the week I either wake up earlier (4:30 am) and get an extra 2 hours in before going to the day job or else it waits until next week.

What makes my weekday process more difficult is the commute to my day job.   I work for a company that has offices all over Manhattan.  Yet my department runs out of the southern most building on the island- 1 New York Plaza.  It’s right next to the Staten Island Ferry. Image Getting to work is never the issue.  But when I leave EVERYTHING is the issue.  For instance:

Image

It was reported as a busted pipe that leaked steam.  Never heard of it before.  But OK.  So the fire department supposedly came to check it out and to calm people down if they misunderstood what was going on.  I misunderstood what was going on, thinking it was serious because, well, the fire department was there.  The Bowling Green 4 and 5 train stop (the train stop I use to get home) is right across from where the steam is emitting from.   I’m about a block away from work when I took this picture and about 73+ blocks to my drawing desk.  It’s never easy to get to that drawing desk.

What makes this steam incident worse is that a few of my coworkers actually worked in the World Trade Center when it was hit.  Luckily they were on a floor relatively close to the ground.  Here in 1 New York Plaza we were located on one of those “floors relatively close to the ground” yet recently were moved to the top floors of the 40 story building.  They were not happy about this and strange incidents in the Financial District only add to the intensity.

For a short time my drawing desk got a little closer when Hurricane Sandy hit last October and partially flooded the basement and 1st level of 1 New York Plaza.  We were moved to a building a block away from Times Square and an easy 15 minute commute.  The last week of December we returned home to 1 NYP.  (Thank god too- I would have been stuck at work until 8pm on 12/31/12 for quarterly expiration and then had to deal with a new year’s mob right outside.)

Image

Leave a Reply

